Snowy River Pie: Judgment Day

20130207_164530So I went to IGA and scoped out their budget pie range. Seeing as how I am currently unemployed and spend my days writing about pies and other important things my eyes were averted away from the top-shelf range, knowing that my wallet would fall into an existential crisis once finding itself empty and devoid of any current meaning. Philosophy aside, I bought a Snowy River 6 pack of frozen pies and decided to pop one of these disappointingly small meat-disks in the oven back at home base. I was immediately unimpressed with their small stature, and weak-looking pastry flesh. I tried one and hated it. So I tried another, because I am dedicated and fair.

So here is the run down on the Snow River pie.

20130207_164558

Cost: $5.50 per 6-pack (about 92 cents a pie)

Pastry: as white as a baby’s bald head. Not buttery, or biscuity; just bland. It is hard to describe the taste of something absolutely tasteless.

Meat: if you like the texture of canned baby food you may enjoy the grey meat-mass that sits inside its unappealing pastry shell. To look at the meat reminds one of sewage; there is no discernible meat-bits, just thick mush. Truly unworthy garbage.

Overall Satisfaction: to take an optimistic view I would conclude that the inventors of this pie are praiseworthy for managing to create a pastry dish that manages to look and feel like a regular pie, but surprisingly lacks any of the fundamental assets of pie, such as taste.

Cost to Satisfaction Ratio: at around $5.50 a pack, each pie is costing the consumer less than one dollar. However, since this pie is lacking (in every sense of the word), I would say that the cost to satisfaction ratio is very low. For cheaper options that are much better tasting I would suggest either: Black and Gold‘s budget pie variety, or Coles‘ chunky pie range ($4 a pack).

Grading: F

Comments
3 Responses to “Snowy River Pie: Judgment Day”
  1. Aileen Lowe says:

    I normally like your pies but the last few times I’ve had them the taste has gone down hill, actually there’s no taste they are bland, dry and floury.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] had a more ‘normal’ texture to it, unlike the store bought cheapies I have reviewed lately. It was thick, without being meat-paste, and […]



Leave a Reply

